Skip to content

on insomnia and the process

January 28, 2009

the process – or what exactly DO you do….

soooo long story short for the next couple days i’m without a functioning copy of photo shop. *cries*

(vista oh how I loathe you and will dance on your disk as soon as XP arrives). So I’m stuck at the first step of something I do every week.

Design and create imaginary clothing – well partially imaginary ;)

(Please feel free to move on down the FP feed guys….this is only vaguely “fashion” related)

Usually it starts with a blank piece of bristol board and a Mirado Black Warrior pencil. An hour or so of staring….and a vague idea of what I want to make this week. After a suit release and the sweater I feel the craving to make something girly and pretty.

*insert photo of hya on couch surrounded by cats/half empty glasses of iced coffee/biting her lower lip/face smudged with pencil*

After awhile I get something that is usually like this…

It’s like paper dolls – but much more messy >.>

for the moment *laughs* I’m stuck  at this point. ( Forgive the terrible edited photo of the sketch… I had a little help.)

(This is Bosco, he is pretty sure I am trying to take a photo of him  _not_ the sketch under his cat bum)

~your insomniac goat girl~

~hya

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Sanpierre Juran permalink
    January 28, 2009 6:58 pm

    This was a really interesting post. Thanks, hya, for letting us see a little bit of how the magic happens!

    You know, it would be fun if future Limited Editions perhaps included a scan of these original pencil sketches – just to add to the “handcrafted, few-of-a-kind” feeling.

    *waves to Bosco*

  2. January 28, 2009 7:22 pm

    I can’t thk you enough for this post. It is just so wonderful to see your sketches. I belive I am not the only one who loves to see the creative process of those wonderful designs. and Bosco is very handsome purrrrrrrrr…

  3. Siddean permalink
    January 28, 2009 7:52 pm

    This is awesome!! I LOVE seeing how other designers come up with their pieces :) The original sketches are fascinating and I agree with Sanpierre, you should include some of your original drawings with the finished articles!

    Also, I wish my cats would sit still long enough to take photos of them :] <3

  4. achariya permalink
    January 28, 2009 8:12 pm

    Eh?

    What’s going on?

  5. Sere permalink
    January 28, 2009 8:27 pm

    Loving seeing the other side of the design process, but I REALLY love Bosco. I had a cat that looked very similar to him, everyone that ever met him agreed, coolest cat EVER. Sere gives Bosco an ear scratch!
    And oh, the computer woes – so not fun. I hope you get it resolve soon!

  6. January 28, 2009 8:45 pm

    Can I just say that Bosco is simply adorable? LOL….

  7. January 28, 2009 9:19 pm

    :O Wow, I wish my sketches looked that awesome! Mine look like a 5 year old drew them >.>

    Vu <3’s Bosco 4 LIFE!!

  8. January 28, 2009 9:24 pm

    Cute kitty there — >purrrrrrrrrrrs<

  9. Alyx Sands permalink
    January 29, 2009 4:18 am

    Um, I’m thinking of getting PS for Vista….is that a bad idea then?

    Oh, and cat butts have the tendency to be parked on ANY kind of object you usually work on or want to read…and Bosco is a cutie!

  10. hyasynth permalink
    January 29, 2009 6:08 am

    @ Alyx – The install is not liking the wonderful “omg we are Vista we are secure” insane user privilages. Even in admin it will NOT read the install. Works fine on J’s XP machine.

    After 10 hours of troubleshooting, i have to reformat and start from scratch to be able to install, in the process i plan to install XP to get rid of Vista which has been nothing but trouble.

    @ everyone oggling Bosco. He is really just a furry human, brings us much happyness and laughter. I keep telling J we adopted a furry toddler on accident – he also talks CONSTANTLY in little cat mewls and grunts.

    His current favorite place is on top of the rat cage – where as you walk buy he will mewl and make sure you note – “hey look i’m on the rat cage” There is a magazine sitting on top – he will NOT stand on the actual cage as he is afraid of the rat kids.

    @ Vu – hahah i got to spend a little extra time on this one but thanks!

    re sketches!
    Thanks this is something i’ve wanted to do for awhile now but never had the time. ;) I thought it would be interesting for a few people atleast to see the creation process and work behind clothing here. I’m glad you are all enjoying it.

  11. Terry Toland permalink
    January 29, 2009 1:32 pm

    Yay, kitteh~! <3

    Once more, Hya proves how awesome she is. XD

  12. Nivaya permalink
    January 30, 2009 12:53 am

    I approve of what San said also. MOAR SKETCHES! <3

  13. January 30, 2009 10:45 am

    Don’t really have anything original to say, just chiming in with the crowd who thinks this post was really fun to see!
    (And that Bosco is a cutie : )

    I have Photoshop (just Elements 6.0) on my Vista HP desktop and it works fine – but – it was factory installed.

  14. Alyx Sands permalink
    February 6, 2009 6:34 am

    Cyn, I have Elements on a Vista Vaio laptop and it works alright-that’s why I was thinking of getting proper Photoshop for my Vista desktop, but now I’m a bit frightened really….

  15. oni permalink
    February 7, 2009 7:47 am

    hi hi mizz hya-

    hope you are well in spite of all the trials and tribulations 8D

    what kinda ratties do you have?

  16. hyasynth permalink
    February 7, 2009 8:50 am

    I have two hooded agouti rats :)

    one is a rescue from petsmart who only has one eye! and was being sold for $1 (totally destined to be snake food!) poor girl. *smiles* and the other is about 2 years old and *grins* the big momma of the cage. Amusingly they don’t have proper names. It’s hard for me with rat kids because their lives are so short. But they are totally spoiled rotten ;)

  17. Nebual Quandry permalink
    June 22, 2009 12:48 am

    (Coming in soooper late on the thread!)
    Hya, if you were to make a blog of nothing *but* your creative process, I would be glued, utterly enraptured, to my screen. I, mean, more so than I am already.

    ps – Cute cat!

Leave a Reply

