Skip to content

Hya not quite old as dirt, but close.

January 17, 2010

I missed Sophia’s challenge earlier on, as my fleshy counterpart was having a birthday. (and coinciding post holiday blues) hya isn’t the oldest avatar. Though feel like I’ve seen SO many changes here since her rez day in 2005. Where I spent my first week near The Welcome Area. Logging out in the nearby water because I thought your avatar remained in world. *doh* and I didn’t want her to be molested!

My first land was a 512 on the edge of “The New Continent” and Tateru Nino was my neighbor. I remember Telehubs, a time before flexi prims or local lighting. Server Load tests with prizes! (They had to bribe us to get 5k(?) people on the grid at once. Yes I still have my Benshee) I Miss the “Missing Image” file. and even yes, Ruth. Because, I started my life here as her.

Second Life moves quickly people come and go, the world around us improves. Hya is pretty much the same. Maybe a little braver than in the beginning. (and *laughs* obvious pixel art improvements!) But still…an artist and recluse at heart. It is hard to imagine my life…without this place and most importantly the people in it. Who have made it impossible for me to ever consider leaving.

I have been blessed with the ability to do something I love.  To have a place for my “voice”. To leave a small impression.

Thanks to those who believe.

/end introspective insomnia hya.

you can see a much larger size of this photo on Flickr here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2010 7:49 pm

    Thanks for very thoughtful reflections, hya. And for your warmth and generosity to all of us pixelated kids. Knowing you is a special part of my lives :)

    (And I miss hippos)

  2. Fogwoman Gray permalink
    January 18, 2010 3:41 am

    I had to laugh about you logging out in the water….I would put my avatar in her jammies and put her to bed each night when I logged out of my treehouse. For the same reason! What a long, strange trip it’s been :)

Leave a Reply

